Language Arts

WELCOME TO LANGUAGE ARTS
The Language Arts (English) program provides a variety of course offerings in literature, writing, speaking, media and drama. Each student is required to pass 8 semester credits (or 4 full years) of Language Arts in grades 9-12. Students must take a full-year required Language Arts course each year regardless of the number of Language Arts courses they have previously completed. Language Arts electives may be taken in addition to, but not in place of, the full year required courses. 

Required Language Arts courses are offered at two skills levels: General and Advanced. To enroll in Advanced level courses, student must fulfill specific prerequisites: 

Advanced courses are for students who read and write above grade level and who want to work hard and are able to work independently. Enrollment in Advanced courses requires at least a “B” in the previous year’s Language Arts course and a teacher’s recommendation.


Glenn Skov, Department head
651-403-7299 | glenn.skov@isd197.org | webpage

Kelly Barrick 
651-403-7164 | kelly.barrick@isd197.org | about me

Janelle Christensen
651-403-7241 | janelle.christensen@isd197.org | about me

Ann Henry
651-403-7192 | ann.henry@isd197.org | about me

Joanna Imm
651-403-7275 | joanna.imm@isd197.org | webpage

Julie Johnson
651-403-7258 | julie.johnson@isd197.org | webpage

Dan McCormick
651-403-7123 | daniel.mccormick@isd197.org | webpage

Erica Ramisch
651-403-7288 | erica.ramisch@isd197.org | webpage

Kelly Smalstig
651-403-7301 | kelly.smalstig@isd197.org | webpage

Suzanne Temple
651-403-7305 | suzanne.temple@isd197.org | webpage

Amy VanDamme
651-403-7119 | amy.vandamme@isd197.org | webpage


LANGUAGE ARTS DEPARTMENT